Every Day Is Your Time To Shine

Happy Tuesday, everyone! Can you believe March is almost here already? I certainly can’t. 2017 is going by so fast, but with that being said, remember to always make time to slow down and savor every moment. 🙂 Not to mention, spring will be here soon!

Today I want to shine (you’ll soon realize this is a completely intended pun) the light on a fantastic new startup called Shine that has been mentioned in CNN, Mashable, Glamour, and TIME, and deserve every ounce of acknowledgement received in these articles. These ladies are truly inspiring in ways I can’t describe; my only regret is not knowing about Shine earlier, which is why I want to spread the word about this awesome service.

So what is Shine all about? It was started in 2015 by co-founders Naomi Hirabayashi and Marah Lidey and is a daily, and free texting service that aims to inspire you and start your morning off on a positive note.

We are talking about a #MotivationalMonday EVERY day during the week for you fellow Facebook- and Instagram-ers! How amazing is that? I previously talked about ways that you can start your day on a positive note and repeating positive affirmations was one of the suggestions I had. Shine is essentially a positive affirmation that is sent directly to your phone every morning at 8:15 AM in your respective time zone. I personally know how hard it can be to develop a habit of repeating positive affirmations for yourself, so Shine is a fantastic way to build up that practice for you and help suggest a healthy intention to set each day.

When you sign up for Shine, you get to choose a focus out of the following: a) confidence b) productivity c) creativity d) presence & joy, and e) health. The texts you receive every morning are catered around your goal and include actions you can take to achieve this in the form of articles, funny GIFs, quotes, and more. Even better, you can “Check In” each day and even mark your mood at the end. Nothing feels better after a week goes by and you realize you’ve committed to improving your mental health & life every day that whole time! 🙂

Want an idea of what a daily Shine text looks like? Let me walk you through my presence & joy text I received today:

fullsizerender

I absolutely LOVE waking up to this or seeing it when i’m drinking my morning coffee. Whatever mood i’m in, this text always finds a way to make me smile because I know as soon as I click on it i’ll be dedicating a few minutes to working on myself. What’s great is that you even have your own customized link! The following welcome screen is what shows up when you click on your personal link in the text:

fullsizerender-1-copy

The greeting eventually fades out, and the page starts out with an inspiring quote:

fullsizerender

fullsizerender-3-copy

You get a link to an article that can help improve some aspect of your life, perhaps one that you’ve been struggling with. I love having this reference in my phone because I know I can always pull it up in those moments I am not being mindful about my intention. 🙂 Clicking on “Do it” will provide you with a written intention you can set for that day:

fullsizerender-4-copy

fullsizerender-5-copy

Just like that, you’ve checked into your goal and can go about your day being mindful about that intention. 🙂

If you don’t want to stop there, clicking on “Tell me more” elaborates on the daily intention and allows for you to eventually log your mood as well:

fullsizerender-6-copy

fullsizerender-7-copy

fullsizerender-8-copy

I have found that most days there is comedic relief included (like this article that was included in a Shine text from last week–i’m still cracking up!), which is always great since studies show how laughter is so great for your well-being. Plus, who doesn’t like to laugh? It feels so darn good!

After you log how you feel (and be honest with yourself), you can see how other people in the Shine community feel the same day:

fullsizerender-9-copy

This is so great, because it reminds us that we are never alone and we are part of a big community, even if it doesn’t feel like it some days. There is comfort in knowing that other amazing people are reading the same words you are and are setting the same intention for the day, not to mention that we are all doing our best to live a happy and content life. 🙂

Join me in taking a few minutes out of your day to set a positive intention for yourself. Even better, become a part of the ShineSquad and spread the love to others!

I am so incredibly grateful to be part of an inspiring group of men and women who seek to improve not only their own lives, but empower others to find ways to improve theirs as well. Let’s endure this journey together in making every day a bright one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

